top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsa Reeves

Dom's afterschool club


After school and PE everyday, we went to the back court and played a game of football. We had the boys choose their own teams, dictate their own rules and play as they pleased. Dom and I were on opposite teams and we all scrimmaged for about an hour, with a penalty shootout to follow, before everyone had to go home. They all had to get home before dark, and some of them lived about a two hour walk away from the school.


I missed the first session on Monday, but the say that I showed up to play a few girls joined in as well. Some of the boys were skeptical of me at first, but I did an around the world and then they were convinced. I got picked for a team first!


For our last session on Friday, we even saw a few fifas (referees). A seventh grader named Patrick, the son of the head teacher Monica, had a whistle and even a yellow card. It was all fun and games; it was hands down my favorite part of the day.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page